I’m in a hurry to get things done

Oh I rush and rush until life’s no fun

All I really gotta do is live and die

But I’m in a hurry and don’t know why

                                                                             Alabama, I’m in a Hurry

Are you in a hurry? Are you doing the things you really want to do?

One of the joys or retired life is having more time to do the things you enjoy. Of course there are financial limits, individual responsibilities, and other limitations that impose restrictions on our choices. I, for example, am not writing this from my yacht in the Caribbean. The Swedish Bikini Team is no where in sight. I just put down my guitar and it did not sound like Stevie Ray Vaughan. But all is not lost.

The point of this brief blog is to suggest we do have a great deal of control over our time in retired life. I’m always surprised when I hear someone complain about having to visit a certain relative or having to do something they vehemently dislike. My advice: Don’t do it.

There was a time in my work life in which I did all the cooking for our family. I would visit the super market every day on my way home and as I walked in the door I would ask myself one question: What do I want to eat today? Very simple. I didn’t keep a lot of fresh foods in the refrigerator that I felt obligated to use up. Life was busy, but other than a couple of kids still living at home, there was no company to impress. The choice was mine. It was a very freeing and fulfilling experience.

Retired life is very much like that. What do you want to do? Who would you like to meet? Is there someone you would like to help? Is there a skill you would like to acquire? Write out and come up with your own questions. It’s sort of a dream “to do” list. I have two. One for the grander goals such as potential travel destinations and an everyday list that I keep on my iPhone. Sometimes it’s as simple as a reminder to listen to a song I want to hear again. That was the inspiration for this blog. Thanks Alabama. Well said.